ead sofiejorgensen -
2013-08-15  12:11:57

Intervju med Angelica Augustsson

PÅ KInglsnds hemsida finns ett antal intervjuer med deras profilryttare, bland annat Angelica! (något gammal intervju)
 
Swedish Show Jumper

Angelica Augustsson

Name:  Angelica Augustsson
Born:  1987
Competing for:  Sweden
Lives in:  Pfungstadt, Germany 
Trains with:  Dietmar Gugler


Could you tell us a little about the current horses at your stable?
“I have about eight competing horses. There’s of course Mic Mac du Tillard. She is a twelve year old mare after Cruising. Mic Mac needs a lot of work and exercise. She is hot, but intelligent. You never need to force her to jump, but she is sensitive and you need to find a good relation with her to make it work. We have found our chemistry and it’s usually only me who rides her,” Angelica says with a happy face when talking about her top horse. 

“Then there’s Walter. He is a ten year old gelding after Werenfels. Walter is also kind of sensitive, but he is still easier to handle than Mic Mac,” Angelica smiles. 

“I also have a very promising seven year old called Roi de Berg that I have had since last year. He is a Selle Francais after Ideal de Prissey. He seems really promising and hopefully he’ll stay with me. He’s tall though - 1.75,” Angelica laughs with her 163 centimeters. The plan is to bring him along for the youngster tours this year. He didn’t go to that many shows last year. We have had to put in a lot of flat work with him.”

“I also have Baloubetta du Soleil, an eight year old by Balou du Rouet that I have high hopes for as well,” Angelica sums up. 

Which horse is your favorite throughout the times?
“I would have to say Mic Mac. We kind of have a history now, and we have travelled this journey together. My first 1.50 class was also Mic Mac’s first. We had our debut at 1.55 level together as well as the World Cup debut in Gothenburg in 2010. The Europeans in Madrid was her first championship and my first senior championship, so there have been a lot of firsts for us together,” Angelica says. 

When & how did you start to ride?
“I started at the local riding school when I was eight or nine. I loved horses. There was a wood near our home where people often took their horses for a hack. I used to run over to them to get to just pet the horses.”

And when did you decide to become a professional rider?
“From the moment I understood that I actually could work full time with horses,” Angelica states. “ I have always been riding a lot. And from early on I was able to ride several horses every day. I think I knew it already in high school. After I finished school I needed new challenges, and I decided to go to Germany. And I’m still here!” 

Could you name a person or persons that have been influential for your showjumping career, and explain why?
The answer comes immediately; “My dad! He always took me to the stable and drove me around on shows. He was always with me, helping me and following up on everything. He worked two jobs to be able to pay for me and my horses,” Angelica says in a more serious tone.

Which personal trait has served you well in this sport?
“I have always wanted to become a better rider. I have never thought I was too good to learn anything new, and I have always wanted to learn more from people that are better than me.”

Career highlights?
“The World Cup victory in Gothenburg was unbelievable! But also the European Championships in Madrid was great. Our team ended up fifth, and we secured a place at the Olympics which is a great achievement. Then there was the Promotional League final in Barcelona that took us back to the Top League, but I must say that there have been many important victories along the way. When I won the Swedish Championship for ponies that was of course an amazing moment for me too.”

And the most embarrassing moment in your career?
“I have so many embarrassing moments - I don’t know which one to choose,” Angelica laughs loud. “I do funny things every day,” she continues. “But one of my worst moments was as a junior when my breeches ripped in the middle of the course. I was positive that everyone could see my butt. But I finished the course,” Angelica points out.

What are your goals for 2012?
“The Olympics in London. I will be one of the youngest riders present, but I’m going there to perform well. My goal is to make it to the final,” Angelica states.

What’s your favorite Kingsland product?
“I love the new show jackets. But I really like that all the products are of high quality and that they look modern. Makes you feel better.”

What’s your advice for riders who want to get to the level that you are at?
“Never give up - work hard for it instead. Even though you sometimes hit a bump in the road, things will always look better again.”

Interview by; World of Show Jumping
 
 



KOMMENTERA DETTA INLÄGG:

« NAMN Spara info?

« E-POST (publiceras ej)

« URL

Kommentar: